Assignment Draft – Water Footprint

One of the assignments I’m planning on doing is the Water Footprint Calculator. I found a calculator through National Geographic that is by far the best one I have used so far. It is very informative and accurate. I calculated by baseline water footprint for my home in Connecticut. It took a little while to do but I really think it’s worth it.

My initial water footprint according to this website is 1,596 gal/day (for my home in CT, not my apartment in Ithaca). The website then asks you to make a pledge to reduce this number by adjusting some of your habits. If I stick to my pledge, my new reduced footprint (which I assume I will recalculate at the end of the semester) will be 1,516 gal/day.

Here is the link to the website:

http://environment.nationalgeographic.com/environment/freshwater/water-footprint-calculator/

-Lauren

Leave a Reply

